Trained Onis this AI training on my prompts?

Change of position

Grok changed what its terms of service says

Grok (xAI) now says logged-in users “can select whether or not” User Content trains models; logged-out use “where permitted” grants “full rights” for training.

When
Recorded between and (no capture in between)
Document
Terms of Service
Evidence
Capture with the new text · last capture with the old text
Vendor
All Grok plans and changes
Decided by
Three independent AI readers agreed: . How that works.

What changed

License**. You acknowledge and agree that we may use, display, modify, and redistribute Materials (a) to provide the Services to you and (b) to develop, train, test, improve and operate the Services (including our artificial intelligence and/or machine learning models). Electing whether your User Content is used for product development or model training.** When logged into our Service, you can select whether or not you want us to use your User Content to improve our products and services and train our models. Private Chat and User Content that you request to be deleted will be queued for deletion, which may take up to 30 days. Where available, you may access our Service without logging in; when doing so, where permitted, you grant us full rights to use any data you provide to or obtain from our Service for product development and model training purposes. Further details are available in our Privacy Policy and Consumer FAQs.

Removed Added. Only the sentences about training are shown, not the whole document.

Before

In force from

License**. You acknowledge and agree that we may use, display, modify, and redistribute Materials (a) to provide the Services to you and (b) to develop, train, test, improve and operate the Services (including our artificial intelligence and/or machine learning models).

After

In force from

Electing whether your User Content is used for product development or model training.** When logged into our Service, you can select whether or not you want us to use your User Content to improve our products and services and train our models. Private Chat and User Content that you request to be deleted will be queued for deletion, which may take up to 30 days. Where available, you may access our Service without logging in; when doing so, where permitted, you grant us full rights to use any data you provide to or obtain from our Service for product development and model training purposes. Further details are available in our Privacy Policy and Consumer FAQs.

Other Grok changes